Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Organizational issues

What is Cocoon

Cocoon is a specialized data repository for speech recordings. These data are derived from research activities and can be field works, interviews, laboratory or professional experiments, etc. The "primary" resource is always an audio or video recording. This may or may not be accompanied by annotation resources (e.g., transcripts, translations, timecodes, electroglottograms, or other physiological measures related to the recorded speech, etc.).

What are the depositor's responsibilities?

The deposited data is and remains the responsibility of the depositor, who must therefore ensure upfront that he or she has all the rights to do so. Any consent forms and personal data processing declarations are under his responsibility and at his initiative.

It is up to the depositor to determine what data may be deposited, what descriptive information must be associated with it, under what conditions such data may be accessible to others, under what conditions it may be reused. In particular, it is the depositor who must anonymize or pseudonymize the information if necessary. He may be guided in his choices by his data protection delegate, by his ethics committees, his funders, his institution's policy, etc.

What are the responsibilities of the Cocoon repository?

As a service provider, Cocoon strives to ensure the availability of the repository, particularly the data access service. However, Cocoon reserves the freedom to interrupt its services for maintenance or any other reason deemed necessary.

Cocoon never interferes with depositors' data or metadata except at their request and to assist them in implementation. Cocoon does, however, reserve the freedom to standardize descriptions when necessary and to enrich them through alignment with repositories.

Who can deposit data?

All members of the Humanities and Social Sciences community of Higher Education Research in France can deposit in Cocoon whatever their disciplines (Linguistics, Anthropology, Ethnomusicology, History...).

Are deposits moderated?

The first step in moderation is to check that the depositor is a member of the community (see "Who can deposit data?") and that he understands and accepts his responsibilities as well as those of the repository. Once this stage has been completed, the depositor is free to deposit the data he wishes to publish in a preparation environment accessible only to him. The publication of any data goes through a control phase in which an administrator checks that the data and metadata have been properly formed, that the description is complete and accurate, standardizes the form of the data and metadata if necessary, and enriches the description by aligning it with others repositories. Lastly, for published data, any modification of data or metadata is also subject to this same type of control. In all cases (publication or modification), an exchange may take place to request additional information.

Data issues

What types of data can be deposited?

The data that can be deposited must be from research activities. They can be, for example, field works, interviews, laboratory or professional experiments, etc. The "primary" resource is always an audio or video recording. This may or may not be accompanied by annotation resources (e.g. transcripts, translations, etc.)

Cocoon distinguishes 3 main types of resources: recordings, annotations, collections.

recordings
It can be audio recording or video recording.
annotations
Annotation is any document (text, image, pdf, etc.) that provides commentary or direct information about an audio or video recording. Generally, these are transcriptions, translations, timecodes, "scenographic" indications, but they can also be recordings of physiological measurements such as electroglottograms, nasal pressure measurements, etc. Are to be excluded from the annotations, the publications, documentations, illustrations which must be deposited elsewhere (for example in HAL) and which can be the subject of a mention in the metadata. Also to be excluded are the metadata themselves which already belong outside the annotation documents.
collections
Audio or video recordings, annotations as well as collections can be grouped together within collections. A collection is a grouping of resources that can be described as a whole. In particular, these collections are used to circumscribe corpora, projects, or holdings. The hierarchy of sub-collections in a collection represents its classification scheme. It is not advisable to make thematic classification schemes (by language, place, subject, etc.) that can be easily obtained by faceting with metadata, but rather to make structural classification schemes such as dividing a collection into assignments or an activity into projects.

What are the accepted formats?

Whether for audio and video recordings or for annotations, Cocoon distinguishes between preservation formats and broadcast formats. The formats accepted as input must be or be able to convert to the target formats for preservation. All of these formats are described in more detail on the Formats page .

Repository functionality issues?

What are the services of the repository?

access
The landing page with the files associated (broadcast and preservation files) are accessible in web mode through URLs. All of these URLs are described in more detail on the identifiers page .

Access to these files may be unrestricted or with authentication. These access conditions are specified in the metadata.

deposit
The data deposit can be done through an administration interface accessible to anyone with a user account on the repository. For large batch deposit, instructions for preparing data and metadata are presented on the Deposit guidelines page .
exhibit

Data (metadata and files) are exposed on the repository web site https://cocoon.huma-num.fr which provides multimedia consultation interfaces as well as search functionalities (faceted search on metadata, full-text search on annotations, geographic search on audio and video recording places or search in collections).

Metadata is also exposed through a oai-pmh endpoint, a sparql endpoint , a "linked open data" web publication.

referencing
The metadata is automatically referenced to multiple service providers through the protocol oai-pmh , including Isidore, OLAC, CLARIN, openAIRE
preservation
The data (in their preservation format) are automatically copied in the CINES archiving system. For more details, see the page on the preservation .

Can a deposited data be deleted?

Data once published cannot be deleted except in cases of force majeure. Even in cases of deletion, a trace that the data existed remains through the declaration of its DOI whose metadata would then be reduced to keep only a citation and the date of deletion date. It is possible on the other hand and when the situation justifies it to modify the rule of accessibility of files.

Can a deposited data be modified?

Metadata can be changed at any time. The associated files, on the other hand, cannot be modified but new versions can be deposited. All versions remain accessible but it is the latest version that is the default version and will be highlighted by all processing (consultation, search).

Metadata issues

How to describe your data?

Metadata should be described following the Open Language Archive Community (OLAC) model. This is an extension of the qualified Dublin-Core model (see the metadata page for more information). Required metadata includes title, depositor, publisher, creation date, type and location of audio or video places. Of course depositors are strongly encouraged to do more and better. A cataloging guide can be consulted to understand the available categories and their interpretations within Cocoon.

Entering and editing metadata can be done through a administration interface accessible to anyone with a user account on the repository. For batch repositories, instructions for preparing its data and description are presented on the Repository Guidelines page . For batch changes, contact a repository administrator.

How are metadata exposed?

  • in a classic web interface on landing page of the cocoon.huma-num.fr web site.
  • in a "linked Open Data" interface .

How can metadata be retrieved?

  • by simply reading the content of the landing pages of the web site cocoon.huma-num.fr
  • in the code of the pages of the landing page of the web site cocoon.huma-num.fr in the form of tags <meta> expressed in different vocabularies of the semantic web (dublin-core, schema.org...)
  • using a tool like Zotero and passing the DOIs to it.
  • using the oai-pmh endpoint. Metadata can be requested in different models (OLAC, Dublin-Core simple, Dublin-Core qualified, Datacite)
  • using the sparql endpoint . The metadata is then expressed in the Europeana Data Model (EDM). In addition to the enrichment provided by the repositories used (VIAF, RAMEAU, Lexvo, Geonames, Dbpedia...), this model allows to gather within the same entity (Cultural Heritage Object), its different representations (recordings and annotations in conservation or broadcasting formats). Finally it allows the repositories to be used as documentary pivots to fetch additional information from other data repositorys.
  • using the exposure in "linked Open Data" that allows retrieving metadata expressed with the EDM model in various syntaxes.

How to describe people (contributors, speakers)?

To identify and describe people (mainly depositors, researchers), Cocoon uses the VIAF (Virtual International Authority File) repository, but for other people who are not necessarily "publishing" such as speakers, Cocoon maintains an internal repository to identify and describe them using classic dublin-core, foaf and schema.org vocabularies. To use this repository, a dialog with a repository administrator is required.

Data files issues

How to expose files associated with data outside of Cocoon?

Files associated with data can sometimes be in multiple formats (one format for preservation and one format for broadcasting). The preservation format may also, if it has been modified over time be in multiple versions. Each of these files has a corresponding URL. To the OAI identifiers of the data (see the page permanent identifiers for more explanations) are associated specific URLs that allow access to these different formats:

preservation
http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifierOAI] (current version)
http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifierOAI].version[n] (specific version with n = 1, 2, 3....)
broadcasting
http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifierOAI].diffusion (current version)

These URLs can be used directly in the HTML code of your pages within suitable tags. For example for a video: <video src="http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifierOAI].diffusion" autoplay="true" preload="auto" controls></video>

Another solution, for recordings (audio or video), is to insert in the HTML code of your pages, the embedding code proposed on the records and which will display an adapted viewer and minimal metadata: <h:iframe src="https://cocoon.huma-num.fr/exist/crdo/xql/cocoon_iframe.xql?id=[identifierOAI]" height="320" width="600"></h:iframe>

How to download the files associated with the data?

  • After harvesting the repository with the oai-pmh protocol, you can identify relevant identifiers in the results, build URLs to target the desired format and version, and then finally upload those URLs (e.g., with tools such as wget or curl).
  • After performing a targeted search using the right facets, you can download a CSV file that will list for this selection some criteria including the URLs to download the files. All that remains is to download these URLs (for example with tools like wget or curl).
  • You can express your targeted search using the sparql protocol and retrieve for example the list of URLs to download. All that remains is to download as with the previous solutions these URLs (for example with tools like wget or curl).
  • For collection of recordings and annotations, you can directly request to download a zip of all files in that collection (Only records in broadcast format and current versions of annotations in preservation format will be downloaded. Please note that the volumes to be downloaded can be substantial and may take varying amounts of time depending on the quality of your connection).

Miscellaneous issues

How to cite your data?

Digital object identifiers (DOIs) are assigned to each data. These identifiers can be cited in publications to reference the data. These DOIs are displayed on the landing pages and citation forms are proposed in different styles (APA, Harvard, Chicago...). For a wider range of citation forms it is possible to use the citation.crosscite.org web site

The authentication in Cocoon?

There are currently two types of accounts used in Cocoon:

  • The Cocoon account is an account that allows you to edit the metadata of your documents.
  • The Huma-Num account is used by Cocoon to add depositors the right to deposit files on the server. Authentication is therefore requested on the fly when a file is uploaded on the server. It is also this account that is requested when someone accesses a recording or annotation file that is subject to controled access.

Data integrity management in Cocoon

To ensure the integrity of the data in Cocoon, the files, once standardised and checked, are subject to a hash code computation. These hash codes are stored separately from the files and checked regularly. Alerts are sent and recovery procedures can be triggered if an alteration is detected.

The algorithm used by Cocoon to compute hash codes is MD5. Once the files are deposited at CINES, new hash codes, this time computed with the SHA-256 algorithm, are added.

Wikipedia article on hash function

What licenses apply?

Cocoon recommends, where appropriate, using "Creative Commons" licenses. These licenses allow for fine-grained specification of what a user may or may not do in terms of resource reuse (recording, annotation). The URL of the chosen license is to be specified in the metadata in the Dublin-Core element of the same name.

The metadata, on the other hand, is systematically covered by the CC-BY-NC-ND-2.5 license as declared in oai-pmh in the metadataPolicy field.

Creative Commons License Creative Commons licenses are standard contracts for making works available online. They are non-exclusive permissions given by rights holders to the public. These authorizations specify the conditions of use of the works. In particular, these licenses make it possible to restrict commercial use and derivative works and to make the redistribution of works dependent on the mention of their authorship. Any rights not explicitly assigned in the license can be negotiated directly with the rights holders.

This movement is inspired by the free software movement, the "open source" movement and the "open access" movement. The "Creative Commons" organization was founded in 2001 at Stanford Law School under the impetus of law professor Lawrence Lessig (Cf. Lawrence Lessig's book: Free culture - How big media uses technology and the law to lock down culture and control creativity, 2004, in PDF format and of course licensed under the Creative Commons ). The licenses were initially written in English and with reference to American copyright law. Subsequently, the "International Commons" project was set up with the aim of translating and adapting the texts of the licenses to facilitate their application throughout the world while taking into account the specificities of national legislation.

Questions fréquentes (FAQ)

Questions d'organisation

Qu'est-ce que Cocoon?

Cocoon est un entrepôt de données spécialisé pour des enregistrements de parole. Ces données sont issues d'activités de recherche et peuvent être des enquêtes de terrain, des interviews, des expériences en laboratoire ou en milieu professionnel, etc. La ressource "primaire" est toujours un enregistrement audio ou vidéo. Celle-ci peut être accompagnée ou non de ressources d'annotations (par exemple des transcriptions, traductions, découpages chrono-thématiques, électroglottogrammes ou autres mesures physiologiques liées à la parole enregistrée, etc.)

Quelles sont les responsabilités du déposant?

Les données déposées sont et demeurent sous la responsabilité du déposant, qui doit donc s'assurer en amont qu'il dispose bien de tous les droits pour ce faire. Les éventuels recueils de consentement et déclarations de traitement de données à caractère personnel sont sous sa responsabilité et à son initiative.

C'est au déposant de déterminer quelles données peuvent être déposées, quelles informations descriptives doivent y être associées, sous quelles conditions ces données peuvent être accessibles à d'autres, sous quelles conditions elles peuvent être réutilisées. C'est notamment lui qui doit anonymiser ou pseudonymiser si besoin les informations. Il peut être guidé dans ses choix par son délégué à la protection des données, par ses comités d'éthique, ses financeurs, la politique de son établissement, etc.

Quelles sont les responsabilités de l'entrepôt Cocoon?

En tant que fournisseur de services, Cocoon s'efforce de garantir la disponibilité de l'entrepôt, en particulier le service d'accès aux données. Toutefois, Cocoon se réserve la liberté d'interrompre ses services pour des raisons de maintenance ou pour tout autre motif jugé nécessaire.

Cocoon n'intervient jamais sur les données, ni sur les métadonnées des déposants, sauf à leur demande et pour les aider dans la mise en oeuvre. Cocoon se réserve toutefois la liberté de normaliser lorsque nécessaire les descriptions et d'enrichir celles-ci par l'alignement sur des référentiels.

Qui peut déposer?

Tous les membres de la communauté des Sciences humaines et sociales de l'Enseignement Supérieur Recherche en France peuvent déposer dans Cocoon quelleq que soient leurs disciplines (Linguistique, Anthropologie, Ethnomusicologie, Histoire...).

Question sur les données

Quels types de données peuvent être déposés?

Les données qui peuvent être déposées doivent être issues d'activités de recherche. Elles peuvent être par exemple des enquêtes de terrain, des interviews, des expériences en laboratoire ou en milieu professionnel, etc. La ressource "primaire" est toujours un enregistrement audio ou vidéo. Celle-ci peut être accompagnée ou non de ressources d'annotations (par exemple des transcriptions, traductions, etc.)

Cocoon distingue 3 types principaux de ressources: les enregistrements, les annotations, les collections.

enregistrement
Un enregistrement peut être audio ou vidéo
annotations
Sont considérés comme annotations tout document (texte, image, pdf, etc.) qui apporte des commentaires ou des compléments d'information directe sur un enregistrement. Généralement, il s'agit de transcriptions, de traductions, de timecodes, d'indications "scénographiques", mais il peut s'agir aussi d'enregistrements de mesures physiologiques comme des électroglottogrammes, des mesures de la pression nasale, etc. Sont à exclure des annotations, les articles, documentations, illustrations qui doivent être déposés ailleurs (par exemple dans HAL) et qui peuvent faire l'objet d'une mention dans les métadonnées. Sont également à exclure les métadonnées elles-mêmes qui ont déjà leur place hors des documents d'annotations.
collection
Les enregistrements, les annotations ainsi que les collections peuvent être regroupés au sein de collections. Une collection est un regroupement de ressources pouvant être décrit comme un tout. Ces collections servent en particulier à circonscrire des corpus, des projets ou des fonds. La hiérarchie des sous-collections d'une collection représente son plan de classement. Il est déconseillé de faire des plans de classement thématiques (par langue, lieux, sujets, etc.) qui peuvent être facilement obtenus par du facettage avec les métadonnées. Il est plutôt préférable d'établir des plans de classement structurels comme le découpage d'un fonds en missions ou d'une activité en projets.

Quels sont les formats acceptés?

Que ce soit pour les enregistrements ou pour les annotations, Cocoon distingue des formats de conservation et des formats de diffusion. Les formats acceptés en entrée doivent être ou pouvoir se convertir dans les formats cibles de conservation. L'ensemble de ces formats est décrit plus précisément à la page Formats .

Questions sur les fonctionnalités de l'entrepôt?

Quels sont les services de l'entrepôt?

accès
Les notices des données (landing page) ainsi que les fichiers associés à ces notices (fichiers de diffusion et fichiers de conservation) sont accessibles en mode web à travers des URLs. Toutes ces URLs sont décrites plus précisément à la page sur les identifiants pérennes .

L'accès à ces fichiers peut être libre ou soumis à authentification. Ces conditions d'accès sont précisées dans les métadonnées.

dépôt
Les dépôts unitaires de données peuvent se faire par une interface d'administration accessible à toute personne ayant un compte utilisateur sur l'entrepôt. Pour les dépôts de lots volumineux de fichiers, des consignes de préparation de ses données et de leur description sont présentées sur la page Consignes pour les dépôts .
exposition

Les données (métadonnées et fichiers) sont exposées sur le portail web de l'entrepôt https://cocoon.huma-num.fr qui propose des interfaces de consultation multimédia ainsi que des fonctionnalités de recherche (recherche à facettes sur les métadonnées, recherche plein texte sur les annotations, recherche géographique sur les lieux d'enregistrement ou recherche dans les collections).

Les métadonnées sont également exposées à travers un point d'accès oai-pmh , un point d'accès sparql, une publication en mode web de données.

signalement
Les métadonnées sont automatiquement référencées auprès de plusieurs fournisseurs de services à travers le protocole oai-pmh , notamment auprès de Isidore, OLAC, CLARIN, openAIRE.
conservation
Les données (dans leur format de conservation) sont automatiquement versées dans le système d'archivage du CINES. Pour plus de détails, voir la page sur la pérennisation .

Est-ce qu'une donnée déposée peut être supprimée?

Les données une fois publiées ne peuvent plus être supprimées sauf cas de force majeure. Même dans les cas de suppression, une trace que la donnée a existé demeure à travers la déclaration de son DOI dont les métadonnées seraient alors réduites pour ne garder qu'une citation et la date de suppression. Il est possible en revanche et lorsque la situation le justifie de modifier la règle d'accessibilité des fichiers.

Est-ce qu'une donnée déposée peut être modifiée?

Les métadonnées peuvent être modifiées à tout moment. Les fichiers associés, eux, ne peuvent pas être modifiés mais il est possible d'en déposer de nouvelles versions. Toutes les versions demeurent accessibles mais c'est la dernière version qui est la version par défaut et qui sera mise en avant par l'ensemble des traitements (consultation, recherche).

Questions sur les métadonnées

Comment décrire ses données?

Les métadonnées doivent être décrites en suivant le modèle OLAC (Open Language Archive Community). Il s'agit d'une extension du modèle du Dublin-Core qualifié (voir la page métadonnées pour en savoir plus). Les métadonnées obligatoires sont le titre, le déposant, l'éditeur, la date de création, le type et le lieu d'enregistrements. Bien sûr, les déposants sont fortement encouragés à faire plus et mieux. Un guide de catalogage peut être consulté pour comprendre les catégories disponibles et leurs interprétations dans le cadre de Cocoon.

La saisie et la modification des métadonnées peut se faire par une interface d'administration accessible à toute personne ayant un compte utilisateur sur l'entrepôt. Pour des dépôts en lots, des consignes de préparation de ses données et de leur description sont présentées sur la page Consignes pour les dépôts . Pour des modifications en lots, il convient de prendre contact avec un administrateur de l'entrepôt.

Comment les métadonnées sont-elles exposées?

  • dans une interface web classique sur les pages des notices (landing page) du portail cocoon.huma-num.fr.
  • dans une interface en mode "Linked Open Data" .

Comment les métadonnées peuvent-elles être récupérées?

  • par simple lecture du contenu des pages des notices (landing page) du portail cocoon.huma-num.fr
  • dans le code des pages des notices (landing page) du portail cocoon.huma-num.fr sous forme de tags <meta> exprimés en différents vocabulaires du web sémantique (dublin-core, schema.org...)
  • en utilisant un outil comme Zotero et en lui passant le DOI de la donnée.
  • en utilisant le point d'accès oai-pmh . Les métadonnées peuvent être demandées en différents modèles (OLAC, Dublin-Core simple, Dublin-Core qualifié, Datacite)
  • en utilisant le point d'accès sparql. Les métadonnées sont alors exprimées dans le modèle EDM (Europeana Data Model). Outre l'enrichissement apporté par les référentiels utilisés (VIAF, RAMEAU, Lexvo, Geonames, Dbpedia...), ce modèle permet de rassembler au sein d'une même entité (Cultural Heritage Object), ses différentes représentations (enregistrements et annotations en formats de conservation ou de diffusion). Enfin il permet d'utiliser les référentiels comme pivots documentaires pour aller chercher des informations complémentaires dans d'autres entrepôts de données.
  • en utilisant l'exposition en "Linked Open Data" qui permet de récupérer les métadonnées exprimées avec le modèle EDM en diverses syntaxes.

Comment décrire les personnes (contributeurs, locuteurs)?

Pour identifier et décrire les personnes (essentiellement les déposants, chercheurs), Cocoon utilise le référentiel VIAF (Virtual International Authority File), mais pour les autres personnes qui ne sont pas forcément "publiantes" comme les locuteurs enregistrés, Cocoon entretient un référentiel interne permettant de les identifier de manière unique et de les décrire à l'aide de vocabulaires classiques dublin-core, foaf et schema.org. Pour l'utilisation de ce référentiel, il convient de passer par un dialogue avec un administrateur de l'entrepôt.

Questions sur les fichiers des données

Comment exposer les fichiers associés aux données en dehors de Cocoon?

Les fichiers associés aux données peuvent parfois être dans plusieurs formats (un format pour la conservation et un format pour la diffusion). Le format de conservation peut également, s'il a été modifié au cours du temps, être en plusieurs versions. A chacun de ces fichiers correspond une URL. Aux identifiants OAI des données (cf. la page identifiants pérennes pour plus d'explications) sont associées des URLs spécifiques qui permettent l'accès à ces différents formats :

conservation
http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifiantOAI] (version courante)
http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifiantOAI].version[n] (version spécifique avec n = 1, 2, 3....)
diffusion
http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifiantOAI].diffusion (version courante)

Ces URLs peuvent être utilisées directement dans le code HTML de vos pages au sein de balises adaptées. Par exemple pour une vidéo: <video src="http://purl.org/net/crdo/data/[identifiantOAI].diffusion" autoplay="true" preload="auto" controls></video>

Une autre solution, pour les enregistrements (audio ou vidéo), consiste à insérer dans le code HTML de vos pages, le code d'intégration proposé sur les notices et qui affichera une visionneuse adaptée et des métadonnées minimales: <h:iframe src="https://cocoon.huma-num.fr/exist/crdo/xql/cocoon_iframe.xql?id=[identifiantOAI]" height="320" width="600"></h:iframe>

Comment télécharger les fichiers associés aux données?

  • Après avoir moissonné l'entrepôt avec le protocole oai-pmh , vous pouvez identifier dans les résultats les identifiants pertinents, construire les URLs pour cibler le format et la version souhaités, puis enfin télécharger ces URLs (par exemple avec des outils comme wget ou curl).
  • Après avoir effectué une recherche ciblée en utilisant les bonnes facettes, vous pouvez télécharger un fichier CSV qui listera pour cette sélection quelques critères dont les URLs pour télécharger les fichiers. Reste à télécharger ces URLs (par exemple avec des outils comme wget ou curl).
  • Vous pouvez exprimer votre recherche ciblée en utilisant le protocole sparql et récupérer par exemple la liste des URLs à télécharger. Reste à télécharger comme pour les solutions précédentes ces URLs (par exemple avec des outils comme wget ou curl).
  • Sur les notices des collections, vous pouvez directement demander à télécharger un zip de l'ensemble des fichiers de cette collection (seuls les enregistrements en format de diffusion et les versions courantes des annotations en format de conservation seront téléchargés. Attention, les volumes à télécharger peuvent être conséquents et entraîner des temps plus ou moins longs en fonction de la qualité de votre connexion.)

Questions diverses

Comment citer ses données?

Des identifiants de type DOI (Digital object identifier) sont attribués à chaque donnée. Ces identifiants peuvent être cités dans des publications pour faire référence aux données. Ces DOI sont affichés sur les notices des données et des formes de citations en sont proposées dans différents styles (APA, Harvard, Chicago...). Pour un plus large panel de formes de citations il est possible d'utiliser le portail citation.crosscite.org

L'authentification dans Cocoon?

Il existe pour l'instant deux types de comptes utilisés dans Cocoon:

  • Le compte Cocoon est un compte qui vous permet d'éditer les métadonnées de vos documents.
  • Le compte Huma-Num est utilisé par Cocoon pour ajouter aux déposants le droit de déposer des fichiers sur le serveur. Une authentification est donc demandée à la volée lorsque le déposant "uploade" un fichier sur le serveur. C'est aussi ce compte qui est demandé lorsqu'une personne accède à un fichier d'enregistrement ou d'annotations soumis à un contrôle d'accès.

La gestion de l'intégrité des données dans Cocoon

Pour assurer l'intégrité des données dans Cocoon, les fichiers, une fois normalisés et contrôlés, font l'objet d'un calcul d'empreinte. Ces empreintes sont stockées séparément des fichiers et vérifiées régulièrement. Des alertes sont envoyées et des procédures de récupération peuvent être déclenchées en cas d'altération détectée.

L'algorithme utilisé par Cocoon pour le calcul d'empreintes est MD5. Une fois les fichiers déposés au CINES, de nouvelles empreintes, calculées cette fois avec l'algorithme SHA-256 sont ajoutées.

Article de Wikipédia sur les empreintes numériques

Quelles licences s'appliquent?

Cocoon recommande, lorsque la situation le permet, d'utiliser les licences de type Creative Commons . Ces licences permettent de préciser finement ce qu'un utilisateur peut ou ne peut pas faire en termes de réutilisation de ressource (enregistrement, annotation). L'URL de la licence choisie est à indiquer dans les métadonnées dans l'élément Dublin-Core de même nom.

Les métadonnées sont, elles, systématiquement couvertes par la licence CC-BY-NC-ND-2.5 tel que déclaré en oai-pmh dans le champ metadataPolicy.

Les licences Creative Commons sont des contrats-type pour la mise à disposition d'oeuvres en ligne. Il s'agit d'autorisations non exclusives données par les titulaires des droits au public. Ces autorisations spécifient les conditions d'utilisation des oeuvres. Ces licences permettent en particulier de réserver les exploitations commerciales ainsi que les oeuvres dérivées et de conditionner la redistribution des oeuvres à la mention de leur paternité. Tout droit non cédé explicitement dans la licence peut être négocié directement avec les titulaires des droits.

Ce mouvement s'inspire de celui des logiciels libres, celui de "open source" ainsi que de "open access". L'organisation "Creative Commons" a été fondée en 2001 à la Stanford Law School sous l'impulsion du professeur en droit Lawrence Lessig (Cf. L'ouvrage de Lawrence Lessig: Free culture - How big media uses technology and the law to lock down culture and control creativity, 2004, au format PDF et bien sûr sous licence Creative Commons ). Les licences ont initialement été rédigées en anglais et en référence à la législation américaine sur le copyright. Par la suite, le projet "International Commons" a été mis en place avec pour objectif la traduction et l'adaptation des textes des licences pour faciliter leur application dans le monde tout en tenant compte des spécificités des législations nationales.